Twillingate is a community made up of two islands joined by a bridge – the North and South Twillingate Islands, located on the northeast coast of Newfoundland.
Visitors flock to Twillingate to explore its fishing heritage, and discover the mighty icebergs and whales that gather in its waters. Twillingate is fast becoming a popular tourist destination for people from all corners of the globe. For the photographer or rock-hound, it is a paradise; and for those just wanting a chance to get away from it all, just relax and enjoy the warmth and friendliness of the people.
Twillingate is known as the “Iceberg Capital Of The World” because of the many icebergs that flow past its shores in early spring and summer.
At one time, Twillingate was known as “Toulinquet”. It was so named by the the French because its appearance was so much like that of a group of islands by that name off the coast of France, near Brest. In the early 1700’s, Toulinquet soon became Twillingate to the English Settlers who could not speak or read the French language.
The town was incorporated on September 30, 1965 and has a population of approximately 2600. Twillingate became linked to the mainland of Newfoundland by a causeway in 1973 and has a rich history dating back to the early 1700’s.